A very interesting website. It allows you to see how a site looked in the past. It archives the pages of the website whenever it is updated. You can go through the wayback machine here -- Click here
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Tuesday, August 11, 2009
Author: Ishaan | at : 12:58 PM | Category : Web |
After the launch of Google chrome browser, i have been a compulsive user of this browser. I love this lightwieghted browser for its simplicity. It makes your browsing experience different, however one thing that irritates me is that google has still not made an effort to make Google toolbar compatible with thier own browser. Some of the features are good, but i have seen many people not switch to chrome completely because of this incomplete feature. Google has hinted to bring in extension for its browser( and promising to keep the browser simple), Lets hope for the best to come.
Thursday, July 30, 2009
Author: Ishaan | at : 10:15 PM | Category : Web |
The other day while I was going through my bookmarks folder, I did a big mistake. I deleted my bookmarks folder, in a second I lost all my important bookmarks. I tried undo'ing it but it did'nt work. Unlike Mozilla and Internet Explorer, the bookmarks in Google chrome is maintained in a single file called Bookmark. If you have gone through the same thing I have a solution for you.
The problem in Google chrome bookmark is that the 'rename' option is right before the 'delete' option. Sometimes, you might click the delete option and then your bookmarks bid you a farewell. No option to recover them there.
This will solve your problem and you will be able to see your Bookmarks back into place.
There is a small editing which is required to recover your bookmakrs.
You should be able to see your hidden folder , so that you can see the Local settings folder.
For Xp user's, Go to : C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
For Vista user's, Go to : C:\Users\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default
You can see a file named 'Bookmarks.bak' . May be you can make a backup copy of this folder for safety purpose, but it works out usually. Delete the file 'Bookmark' and rename the file 'Bookmarks.bak' to 'Bookmarks'.
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
Author: Ishaan | at : 10:24 PM | Category : Web |
There is a small glitch in the giant social networking website Facebook. Photos that are uploaded into the webite can still be viewed even after you delete them from the album. Just note the url of the photo you upload. After that delete the photo from your album. Even after deleting the photo, the link to the photos works, Unlike Google's picasa and Yahoo's Flickr which removes it immediately after the user deletes it.
Facebook stated that it removes photo's from its servers immediatly after the user delete's it. But the url to the image exist in the Content Delivery Network(CDN) , until they are Over written.
Wednesday, July 8, 2009
I know, this blog has become more googlish now a days, but cant resist from making this post. Google has recently announced that it is planning to launch Chrome OS for computers. Google is posing all possible threat to the rival Microsoft.
Like the browser, the OS is also expected to be lightwieght and faster. The Official blog of google reads"Speed, simplicity and security are the key aspects of Google Chrome OS"